Wednesday, October 22, 2008

Crop, Clone, Replace



Open running girl photo:
  1. Duplicate the Background layer
  2. Create a New Blank Layer on top, and add Rule of Thirds lines
  3. Adjust the 3rds lines composition: remove the sidewalk, and the girl in the red, and Crop
  4. Create another blank layer to Clone on to
  5. Clone out the clothes and other people
  6. Choose the Polygonal Selection tool to select the upper part of the wall and Delete
  7. Select another photo from CampiStock photos and drag it to this image for the background sky

Panorama, Crop, and Color Adjust


In Photoshop: Stitch a panoramic photo
  1. Open the 3 photos of Morro rockfrom the CampiStock photos
  2. Go to File > Automate > Photomerge
  3. Layout: Auto > press Add Open Files > press OK
  4. After Photoshop processes the images, press Command + e, to merge layers
  5. Crop to even out the image
  6. Go to Filter > Distort > Lens Correction, press a to select the Straighten tool, click hold and draw along the ocean horizon, then let go and your image will be straightened, click OK.
  7. Crop away transparent pixels
  8. Add Rule of Thirds lines and crop in for stronger composition.
  9. Create a Levels adjustment layer, and move the Highlights and Shadow sliders towards the center, to add contrast.
  10. Adjust the middle gray slider for more saturation

Tuesday, October 21, 2008

Photoshop: Color, Levels, Dodge, and HS



In Photoshop:
  1. Open the Beach Rocks photo.
  2. Go to Image > Adjustment > Auto Color, and for this image it works great
  3. Go to Image > Adjustments > Shadow/Highlights
  4. Adjust them until the image looks somewhat naturally enhanced
  5. At the bottom of the Layers palette choose the Levels Adjustment layer
  6. Adjust the Highlights, Shadows, and middle-grays until it has good contrast and detail
  7. Use the Dodge and Burn tools at 20% to bring detail to dark areas and in the highlights
  8. Go to Filter > Sharpen > Unsharp Mask and adjust until the photo is clear, it doesn't require much.

Channel Selection




In Photoshop, open the Umbrella Shadow picture,
  1. Go to the Channels palette, select the Blue channel because it has the most contrast.
  2. Make a copy by dragging it to the Create New Layer icon at the bottom of the palette.
  3. Use Levels, (Command+L) and adjust to make the shadows black and the lighter areas as white as possible.
  4. Select the Brush tool and a soft edge brush
  5. Paint in the white areas, so they are solid white
  6. At the bottom of the Channels palette click on Load Channel as Selection.
  7. Reselect the RGB channel, and turn off the visibility of the Mask layer
  8. Go to the Layers palette and Inverse (Shift+Command+I) the selection,
  9. Press Command+J to make a copy of the shadow
  10. Add an abstract background.

Wednesday, October 8, 2008

Final Collage Revisions and Publishing


On Monday, October 13:
  • We've been practicing Photoshop techniques for several weeks, and have worked on this collage project everyday for over a week; you've had plenty of time to make and collect your photos, gather 8-10 images that represent who you are, and design a mature artistic piece of work.
  • You've had the long weekend to step away from your collage design, and now you'll see it from a fresh, objective point of view.
  • You have the whole class period Monday to complete any redesign and final revisions of your collage.
  • Be sure to do the absolute best you can, and turn in a project you are proud of.
  • The collage needs to be turned by the end of class on Monday, October 13.
I'm looking forward to seeing the results of your creativity and hard work.

Collage Due Date


We viewed a photography presentation about composition principles: Rule of Thirds, focal point, line, contrast, and how to guide a viewer eye to your focal point.
We also finished the first draft of the collage that is due on Monday.


I hope you all have a great four day weekend.

Monday, October 6, 2008

The Adobe Project 1 Collage

Make a digital collage that represents you.

Collage Requirements:

1. Photoshop: Create a new blank web document 1280x720 pixels, 72 ppi, RGB
2. All of the graphics need to be created by you.

3. For your background, choose or create, 2 or more of your images that have strong textures.
4. Open and prepare 7-10 of your Photobooth images, photographs, or other graphics:
a) Crop, if needed
b) Color correct:
  • Adjustments > Auto Color
  • Adjustments > Shadows/Highlights
  • Dodge and Burn a portion of an image
  • Adjustment Layer > Levels
c) Up resolution if needed
d) Select and remove any unwanted backgrounds

e) Save each image as flattened PSD
5. Open and add the final version of each image to your main composition.
6. Choose a focal point and design around it. Using the rule of Thirds: set the Grid at 33%, arrange images in a creative way so that focal point is where a 3rd line crosses.
7. Add text: in a creative way, put your name into the design
, and possibly a short quote that represents you.
  • Use a downloaded font
  • use the text Warp tool and
  • and a layer blend mode

Tuesday, September 23, 2008

Photoshop Compositing and Channels

Your doing a wonderful job as we continue to create composite art work in Photoshop and learn to use the Channels to make precise selections.
I think we need more original photos of cool looking doors, windows, and picture frames to use in our composites.